Coconut OVERBOARD!!!

25 Jan

I love my dear sweet Coconut.  But ask anyone who has met her.  She is a hellion.

Image

White Devil.

I decided to wash Emma on the docks, because it was unseasonably warm …try 55 degrees in January.  QUOI?!  That is pretty much balmy for a Wisconsinite.  I put on running shorts, a tank and flip flops.  There I was sudsing up the Great Dane as quicky as possible — I may or may not have been losing feeling in my fingers.  And all of a sudden I see Coconut putting her paw on the ladder to get down off of the boat.

Image

(to show you the back of the boat and the Pirate)

I screamed at The Pirate who was standing next to her:

“GET HER!!”  He grabbed her, firmly told her “NO.” and put her back down.

TWO seconds later she put her paw back on the ladder and proceeded to walk down the ladder, just like she’d seen me do.  BIG mistake.  She fell straight down about 10 feet onto the swim platform, bounced off of it, ricocheted off the dock, then fell between the boat and dock.

I thought I was about to watch my puppy drown. (noting that I would have seen 2 puppies die in 3 months) I dropped the hose and ran to try to get her out of the water.  By the time I got there, she was swimming, and swam away from me and UNDER the boat.

I started to get frantic, very frantic and screaaaaaaamed to The Pirate

“GET HER! GET HER! GET HER!!!!!!!”  He dropped to the docks and kept trying to scoop her out of the water.  But she was swimming under the swim platform.  Finally he caught her. He Pulled her out by the skin on her butt and oddly enough she was no worse for wear.

… Just covered in green river slim and twigs.

Image

Puppy rescued

At that point the neighbor came running out of her floating house to see what was going on to see if she could help.  The Pirate laughed looked at me and went:

“HA! I guess you really do love your Coconut!!!”

Really REALLY?!?

Image

Who wouldn't love this little rat?

Leave a comment